Updating a Volume Group Backup
Update a volume group backup.
To use backup retention features, you must configure the correct IAM policies. See Required IAM Policies for Backup Retention Features.
Edit a volume group backup using the console.
- On the Volume Group Backups list page, find the volume group backup that you want to work with. If you need help finding the list page or the volume group backups, see Listing Volume Group Backups.
- From the , select Edit.
Basic Information
Edit basic information.
Name: Edit the backup name. Avoid entering confidential information.
Data Retention
The options selected when the backup was created determine the data retention options available.
- No retention period (keep until deleted): If no retention period was set you have the following options.
- Select Set up retention period to set the retention period and enable the retention lock. Set the following options.
- Retention time amount: Sets the retention duration.
- Retention time unit: Sets the unit of time used for the retention duration.
- Retention lock: Enabling the Retention lock prevents users from deleting the backup until the end of the retention period.
- A configured retention period and Retention lock is disabled. The options are as follows:
- You can increase or decrease the duration of the retention period.
- Prevent deletion: When enabled, the backup cannot be deleted during the retention period. The Prevent deletion option can be enabled or disabled.
- A configured retention period and Retention lock is enabled. The options are as follows:
- You can only increase the duration of the retention period. The retention period cannot be reduced or removed.
- Prevent deletion is disabled.
Important
When Retention lock is enabled, only users with theRETENTION_RULE_LOCKprivilege may increase the retention period. The following is true:- No other backup modifications are permitted, except enabling or disabling Indefinite hold.
- Display-name changes, tag updates, and encryption-key rotations are blocked.
- Retention Lock cannot be disabled and the backup remains protected until its retention period expires.
Prevent Deletion
Controls whether the backup can be deleted based on its retention and Prevent deletion settings.
Prevent deletion: The following options are available:- No retention period: Enabling Prevent deletion prevents any user from deleting the backup.
- Configured retention period: Enabling Prevent deletion prevents deletion of the backup until the retention period is reached. The Prevent deletion option can be enabled or disabled.
- A configured retention period and Retention lock is enabled. Prevent deletion is disabled.
Important
When enabled, only users with theRETENTION_RULE_PREVENT_DELETIONprivilege may increase or decrease the backup retention period.Indefinite Hold
Keeps this backup until the hold is removed. Overrides Prevent deletion and data retention settings.
Indefinite hold: When enabled, keeps the backup indefinitely until the hold is removed.
Important
Users with theRETENTION_RULE_INDEFINITE_HOLDprivilege may enable or disable indefinite hold on a backup.Update Backup
Select Save changes. The changes are saved.
Use the
oci bv volume-group-backup updatecommand and specify the--volume-group-backup-idparameter to update the volume group backup:oci bv volume-group-backup update --volume-group-backup-id <volume-group-backup_ID>For a complete list of parameters and values for CLI commands, see the CLI Command Reference.
Run the UpdateVolumeGroupBackup operation to update the volume group backup.